Being the Manager of Merriment

from our Manager of Merriment, Maria Dickson

So I’m coming at you directly on this one!  I’m Maria Dickson, the “Manager of Merriment” here at The CCKC.  Yes, the title is a bit silly, but completely consistent with what I do, nonetheless.  After many years of planning weddings as an independent planner, I have to say planning corporate teambuildings is WAY more fun.  Why?  Because I get to help bring people into a space that (gently) forces them out of the box and takes them out of their element for the day.  Watching a straight-laced accounting team break into song at the end of their culinary teambuilding can do nothing but bring a smile to your face.  What’s even better is convincing the typically stiff VP, for instance, to bring his/her team here in the first place, only to hear them say “Wow, my staff is STILL talking about that event and it’s been over a year!  We definitely want to come back.  What can we do this time around?”  So seriously, though you may laugh a bit at my title, keep in mind that it wasn’t thrown on my business card on a whim.  The proof is in the pudding!

Leave a Reply

